Early Years Curriculum

Our Early Years Curriculum runs in accordance with the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

The overall aim of the EYFS is to help young children to achieve the five ‘Every Child Matters’ outcomes of staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and eventually achieving economic wellbeing.

The EYFS principles which guide the effective work of all practitioners are grouped into four distinct but complementary themes:

  • A Unique Child – every child is a competent learner.
  • Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent.
  • Enabling Environments – supporting and extending a child’s development.
  • Learning and Development – 3 prime and 4 specific areas of learning and development.

The seven areas of learning and development are divided into three prime areas and four specific areas. The three prime areas, which are foundations for school readiness and future progress linked with the National Curriculum areas, are:

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

These are then supported by specific areas that strengthen and build upon the prime areas. These specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

The prime areas are time sensitive and need to be in place between 3 and 5 years of age. They are universal and independent of specific areas. Children cannot master the skills within the specific areas without developing the prime areas.

The characteristics of effective learning in the prime and specific areas of learning and development are interconnected. The way in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

The Unique Child reaches out to relate to people and things through the Characteristics of Effective Learning, which move through all areas of learning, including:

  • Playing & Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating & Thinking Critically

If you would like more information about the EYFS please read this handy guide.